All for Joomla All for Webmasters

08.00am to 17.00pm Open Hours

P.M. B. Ministries, Accra Ghana

Head Office (+233) 302 813756/7

The composition of the Commission as at 20th September, 2017:

Prof. George Panyin Hagan      Chairman
Dr. Isaac Frimpong Mensa-Bonsu      Member
Mr. Moses Aristophanes Kwame Gyasi      Member
Alhaji Jabaru Abukari      Member
Hon. Nana Akua Owusu Afriyieh      Member

Kpembewura Banbange (IV) Dari Bismark Haruna

Dr. A.K. Ofosu Ahenkorah      Member/Executive Secretary

Our Mission
To regulate and manage the development and utilization of energy resources of Ghana to ensure the provision of affordable energy supplies in a reliable, efficient and secure manner in order to promote the social and economic well-being of the people of Ghana, enhance environmental quality and public safety.    


The Vision
To become a leading energy planning and regulatory institution reputed excellence, innovation and transparency in Africa and beyond.


The Energy Commission is required by law to regulate and manage the development and utilization of energy resources in Ghana as well as to provide the legal,regulatory and supervisory framework for all providers of energy in the country, specifically by granting licenses for the transmission, wholesale, supply, distribution and sale of electricity and natural gas and related matters.


The functions of the Energy Commission include the following:

  • To serve as the Government's energy policy adviser by making national energy policy recommendations to the Minister of Energy.
  • To formulate national policies for the development and utilization of indigenous energy resources, in particular, renewable energy:solar, wind and biomass;
  • Prepare, review and update periodically indicative national plans to ensure that all reasonable demands for energy are met;
  • To prescribe by legislative instruments standards of performance and technical and operational rules of practice for the supply, distribution, sale of electricity and natural gas to consumers by public utilities;
  • To enforce the provision of such legislative instruments uniformly throughout the country;
  • To promote competition in the supply,marketing and sale of renewable energy products and other forms of energy;
  • To promote energy efficiency and productive uses of electricity, natural gas; and petroleum products.
  • To license public utilities for the transmission, wholesale supply, distribution and sale of electricity and natural gas; and
  • To secure a comprehensive database for national decision making for the efficient development and utilization of energy resource

The Energy Commission is a statutory body corporate with perpetual succession and a common seal established by an Act of the Ghanaian Parliament, the Energy Commission Act, 1997 (Act 541). The Commission may sue and be sued in its corporate name.

The Energy Commission consists of seven Commissioners appointed by the President of Ghana acting in consultation with the Council of State of the Republic. In making the appointments, the President takes into consideration the knowledge, expertise and experience of the persons so appointed and in particular, their knowledge in matters relevant to the functions of the Energy Commission.

The Executive Secretary is responsible for the day-to-day administration of the Energy Commission and is required to ensure the implementation of the decisions of the Commission. He provides strategic and organizational leadership to build the Commission into a pre-eminent state   agency for formulating and articulating national energy policies.

Style Switcher

Layout Style

Predefined Colors

Background Image